Skip to main content

Swansea Bay's Patient Choice Awards make welcome return

Hospital staff pictured holding award certificates, with patients next to them

AWARDS which give patients and their families the chance to say a huge thank you to Swansea Bay University Health Board staff and volunteers have recommenced after being halted by Covid.

Called the Patient Choice Awards, anyone who has been particularly impressed by outstanding care is invited to nominate individuals or teams from across the health board’s services and sites.

It can be any member of staff or a volunteer who has really gone the extra mile to provide outstanding care and support, with nominators and nominees being brought together at a series of presentation events this summer where patient’s stories are being shared and the awards handed out.

The last round of Patient Choice Awards took place in 2019.

But since the nomination process for 2024 opened in February, following requests from our communities to reinstate the popular awards, the health board has received 379 nominations from patients and service users, families and carers.

Last week saw the first of 12 events scheduled to take place across our sites during June and July, with Neath Port Talbot hospital the focus of three separate presentation ceremonies.

Many nominees and nominators were in attendance, with more than a few tears shed as stories of wonderful dedication and care were read out to the audience.

“These wonderful nominations allow us to celebrate either a member of our staff, volunteer or a team that, through the eyes and experience of our patients/service users, their relatives and our visitors feel they have made a real difference and have provided outstanding care,” said Swansea Bay University Health Board Vice-Chair, Steve Spill.

A group of nurses being presented with a certificate

Pictured right: Swansea Bay Vice-Chair Steve Spill presents a Patient Choice Award to members of Neath Port Talbot hospital's Pre assessment team.

“This is our first Patient Choice Award event to be held since 2019 when these awards were sadly postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

"It’s fantastic that we’re able to reinstate these awards in our calendar, not least because receiving praise and heartfelt gratitude from patients, service users, their families and friends means so much.”

Among the award winners were staff at the Wales Fertility Institute, with staff nurse Louise Haines picked out for particular praise from patient Beth Williams.

“She was sensitive and gentle through the appointment, but I felt very confident in her ability and knowledge,” said Beth.

Stroke Ward C Assistant Practitioner Pria Ratti was the subject of glowing praise and heartfelt gratitude from Gill Pemberton, who said: “She has an energy which is astounding, I personally witnessed her cheer up the mood of a very low four bed unit with her dancing and kind words, leaving the patients smiling and laughing. Better than any tablet, she can turn a grey sky blue and bring sunshine and smiles to people’s faces with ease.

“My mother’s mood visibly lifts when Pria is near.”

Meanwhile Neath Port Talbot's Pre assessment team were picked out by a number of nominations, with one comment among many reading: "Made me feel easy and comfortable from start to finish, and explained the process clearly and totally nice and polite.”

Below is a round-up of all the Neath Port Talbot winners: 

Event 1

Award 1: Louise Haines (Staff Nurse, Wales Fertility Institute) - nominated by Beth Williams.

Award 2: Wales Fertility Institute - nominated by Beth and Rhys Williams.

Award 3: Ward A and Yvette Williams (Ward Sister) - nominated by Julie Tew and Janine Billen.

Award 4: Bethany Engelbrecht (Physiotherapist) - nominated by Brian Sansbury.

Award 5: Agnieszka Gajowska (HCSW OPD)  - nominated by Ryan.

Award 6:  Pria Ratti (Assistant Practitioner, Stroke Ward C) - nominated by Sarah.

Award 7: Pamela Baker, (Sister, Ward B2) - nominated by Mrs Gill Pemberton, daughter of patient Mrs Shirley Isaacs.

Award 8:  Louise Pullen (Staff Nurse, Ward B2)

Award 9: Ward E - nominated by Russell Mansell, Caroline Guegan, Fiona Thomas, Peter Walsh, Rob Barnett, Ross Harding and Thomas Jefferey.

Event 2

Award 1: Post-Menopausal Bleeding Clinic – nominated by Debbie Tyrrell

Award 2: Carl Grainger (Domestic Assistant – Enhanced. Hotel Services) - nominated by David Pitman.

Award 3: Cheryl Baker (Staff Nurse) and Day Surgery Unit – nominated by Emma Price.

Award 4:  Danie Bessi (Endoscopy) – nominated by Roy Darley and Maureen Potter.

Award 5: Dermatology - nominated by Brian Davies and David Joseph

Award 6: Dr Sue Morgan (Consultant – Specialist Palliative Care)  - nominated by Jane Rogers

Award 7: Gareth Stephen Thomas (Dermatology Co-ordinator) - nomination by Erica Hughes

Award 8: Hannah Davies (Macmillan skin cancer Clinical Nurse Specialist) – nominated by Matthew Parry.

Award 9: Endoscopy Suite – nominated by Sian Chetty.

Event 3

Award 1: Lisa Thomas (Healthcare Support Worker) – nominations from Gareth Davies, Gwendolynne Elder-Richards, Jean East and Mrs Endurance.

Award 2: Tessa Milford (Healthcare Support Worker) – nominated by Fleur Jenkins, Pauline Anderson

Award 3: Pre assessment team – nominators include Caryl James, Coris Davies, Dewi Thomas, Jennifer Yeates, Jonathan Omoleigho, Marcus, Paul Donohoe, Victoria Davies, Sian Jenkins, S.D Francis, Peter Osher, Peter Orbradock, Pamela Godfrey, Michael Pike, Michael Clapham, Megan Williams, Kev Thomas, Gaynor Gibbs, Damian Packington, Anthony Williams and Kirsten Studholme.




Rydym yn croesawu gohebiaeth a galwadau ffôn yn y Gymraeg neu'r Saesneg. Atebir gohebiaeth Gymraeg yn y Gymraeg, ac ni fydd hyn yn arwain at oedi. Mae’r dudalen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg drwy bwyso’r botwm ar y dde ar frig y dudalen.

We welcome correspondence and telephone calls in Welsh or English. Welsh language correspondence will be replied to in Welsh, and this will not lead to a delay. This page is available in Welsh by clicking ‘Cymraeg’ at the top right of this page.